7th Annual New Year's Eve Comedy Night + After Party

Presented by: Shenkman Arts Centre Presents

After party is SOLD OUT! Hotel Packages still available!

Sunday, December 31, 2017 at 9 pm


For the seventh year in a row, the Annual New Year's Eve Comedy Night brings in three top-notch Canadian comedians to laugh away the last hours of the year with you!

Always a sold-out event, this comedy extravaganza salutes the calendar ahead by rounding up the most hilarious acts around for a night of merriment. Ben Miner, Jessica Holmes and David Merry make up this year’s triple-bill, and they have some side-splitting material in store for the celebration. Check out their bios below, because you won’t want to miss out – reserve your seats now!

The Comedy Night After Party was such a success last year, we’ve brought it back! Ring in the new year following the show, right at Shenkman Arts Centre with cocktail bites, a creative candy bar, and bubbly for all at midnight. For just $15, add the party pass to your Comedy Night tickets and dance the night away.

Why not start the New Year right? Make the most of every last minute of 2017 – and make a night of it, just steps away! The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa East Orléans offers an exclusive $288 New Year’s Eve Comedy Night Hotel Package which includes:
  • 2 tickets to the Comedy Night show
  • 2 tickets to the Comedy Night After Party
  • King-sized room with luxurious bed to match
  • Sparkling wine in your room
  • Breakfast on January 1, 2018

To purchase Comedy Night Hotel Package Tickets, contact the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa East – Orléans directly at 613-824-8444.



Ben Miner


A comic for half his life, Ben Miner has toured coast to coast and made stops at just about every club in Canada. He has performed at Just for Laughs festival in Montreal, The Vancouver Comedy Fest, and NXNE in Toronto. When he’s not on stage, Ben is still behind a mic as the host of Comic Stripped on SiriusXM’s Canada Laughs with guests including Cheech & Chong, the cast of Family Guy, Eugene Levy and many more. Ben has also worked with heavy-hitters Lewis Black, Russell Peters and Jim Jefferies. If Ben just looks familiar to you, you probably watched him on the first season of MasterChef Canada where he made the top 16.



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


Jessica Holmes


A native Ottawan, Jessica has opened for comedians like Jerry Seinfeld, Leslie Nielsen, and Ellen DeGeneres, and has also hosted events for such visionaries as Deepak Chopra, Tony Robbins, and Oprah Winfrey. Still a comedian at heart, she has performed with The Second City and Just for Laughs, crediting her family for her funniest material. Her quirky presence in the comedy community earned her a special called Holmes Alone, and her own sketch series, a Carol-Burnett-style series named The Holmes Show. Jessica became known for her oddball personifications of Céline Dion, Liza Minelli and Geri Halliwell, and soon joined the cast of the Royal Canadian Air Farce where she played politicians and celebrities; including Michael Jackson and Jessica Simpson.



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


David Merry


Regarded as “Canada’s premier corporate comic magician”, David has been performing for over three decades, in 54 countries and even at sea. He holds a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Canadian Comedy Magic Seminar, a Club Comic of The Year award and has been nominated at the Canadian Comedy Awards for Best One-Man Show and Best Variety Act. In NYC he won Best Variety Performer at the NE Entertainment Corporate Awards. David lectures, performs, invents and sells magical apparatus to magicians all over the world, and has been a professional blackjack, poker and roulette player, and a pro-golfer! The Torontonian has appeared on 70 television shows including The Tom Green Show, The Kids in the Hall, SCTV, Last Comic Standing and has his own half-hour comedy special on CBC’s Comics!.



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


Ages: 19 and over (Mature Content)
Language: English

Tickets (all-in price):
Show and after party: SOLD OUT
Show only: $52
uGO: $20

Front + Centre members get the first chance to purchase, between May 30 and June 7, 2017.
Become a Front + Centre Member to be first in line for a brilliant range of shows, plus so much more!


Venue: Harold Shenkman Hall, Lower Lobby
Genre: Comedy


Ticket Purchase

December 31 at 9:00 pm

7th Annual New Year's Eve Comedy Night + After Party

Présenté par : Centre des arts Shenkman présente

La fête est COMPLET. Il reste encore des billets pour le forfait Soirée d’humour de fin d’année!

Le dimanche 31 décembre 2017 à 21 h


Pour la septième année consécutive, la Soirée d’humour de la veille du Jour de l’an réunit trois humoristes canadiens talentueux qui mettront le monde en perspective comme ils savent si bien le faire, pour écouler les dernières heures de l’année avec vous, en riant, à la salle Harold-Shenkman!

Toujours à guichet fermé, cette grande soirée de folie accueille l’année à venir en présenteant les numéros les plus comiques. Ben Miner, Jessica Holmes et David Merry composent le programme triple de cette année. Ils ont plus qu’un numéro drolatique en réserve pour célébrer avec vous. Lisez leur biographie ci dessous. Et parce que vous ne sauriez vous en passer : réservez vos places dès maintenant!

La célébration du Nouvel An de l’année dernière suite à la Soirée d’humour a connu un tel succès qu’elle est de retour! Célébrez l’arrivée de la nouvelle année après le spectacle, au Centre des arts Shenkman avec de délicieuses bouchées, un bar à friandises hors du commun et des bulles pour tous à minuit. Pour 15 $ seulement, ajoutez le laissez-passer de la fête à votre billet de spectacle pour en faire une soirée inoubliable.

Entamez la nouvelle année du bon pied! Tirez le maximum des dernières minutes de 2017 et terminez par une nuit mémorable à quelques pas seulement! Le Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ottawa East Orléans offre un forfait exclusif Soirée d’humour de fin d’année à 288 $ qui comprend :
  • 2 billets pour le spectacle d’humour;
  • 2 billets pour la fête du décompte après le spectacle;
  • une chambre de luxe avec un très grand lit;
  • une bouteille de mousseux dans votre chambre;
  • le petit-déjeuner du 1er janvier 2018.
Veuillez contacter l'hôtel directement au 613-824-8444 pour vous renseigner sur ce forfait.


Ben Miner


Ben Miner, qui a pratiqué le métier d’humoriste pendant la moitié de sa vie, s’est produit d’un océan à l’autre, dans à peu près tous les cabarets du pays. Il a aussi foulé la scène du festival Juste pour rire, à Montréal, du Vancouver Comedy Festival et du festival NXNE, à Toronto. Il a d’ailleurs collaboré avec les populaires Lewis Black, Russell Peters et Jim Jefferies. Quand il n’est pas sur scène, Ben anime l’émission Comic Stripped, sur la chaîne Canada Laughs de Sirius XM; parmi les nombreux invités qu’il a accueillis, mentionnons Cheech et Chong, la distribution de Family Guy et Eugene Levy. Si le visage vous semble familier, c’est peut-être parce que vous l’avez vu parmi les 16 participants de la première saison de MasterChef Canada.



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


Jessica Holmes


Native d’Ottawa, Jessica Holmes a fait la première partie d’humoristes tels que Jerry Seinfeld, Leslie Nielsen et Ellen DeGeneres, et a animé des événements pour des visionnaires comme Deepak Chopra, Tony Robbins et Oprah Winfrey. Toujours une humoriste dans l’âme, celle qui affirme devoir ses meilleurs gags à sa famille est montée sur scène avec The Second City et s’est produite au festival Juste pour rire. Son petit côté décalé lui a permis de produire une émission spéciale, Holmes Alone, et d’avoir sa propre émission de sketches, The Holmes Show, qui s’inspire de Carol Burnett. Peu de temps après s’être fait connaître pour ses imitations loufoques de Céline Dion, de Liza Minelli et de Geri Halliwell, elle s’est jointe à la distribution de l’émission Royal Canadian Air Farce, dans laquelle elle a interprété des politiciens et des vedettes comme Michael Jackson et Jessica Simpson.



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


David Merry


Considéré comme le « meilleur magicien-humoriste corporatif au Canada », David Merry a donné, au cours d’une carrière de plus de trente ans, des spectacles dans 54 pays, et même en mer. Outre le prix d’excellence pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations que lui a remis le Canadian Comedy Magic Seminar, il a reçu le prix d’humoriste de cabaret de l’année et a été en lice dans les catégories du meilleur spectacle solo et du meilleur spectacle de variétés aux Canadian Comedy Awards. Il a aussi remporté le prix du meilleur artiste de variétés aux Northeast Entertainment Corporate Awards, à New York. David Merry donne des conférences, se produit sur scène, invente des accessoires de magie et les vend à des magiciens aux quatre coins de la planète, sans compter qu’il a déjà été un joueur professionnel de blackjack, de poker, de roulette... et de golf! Ce Torontois a participé à 70 émissions de télévision, dont The Tom Green Show, The Kids in the Hall, Second City Television et Last Comic Standing, et a produit sa propre émission spéciale d’une demi-heure à l’émission Comics!, sur CBC.



Artist Website link Artist Facebook link Artist Twitter link


Âge : 19 and over (Contenus pour adultes)
Langue : Anglais

Billets (prix tout compris) :
Spectacle et fête après l’événement : COMPLET
Spectacle seulement : 52 $
uGO : 20 $

Les abonnés d’Avant-scène peuvent se procurer des billets en prévente du 30 mai au 7 juin 2017.
Abonnez-vous à Avant-scène pour être parmi les premiers en ligne pour une brillante sélection de spectacles!


Lieu : Salle Harold-Shenkman, Foyer inférieur
Genre : Humour


Billets

Le 31 décembre à 21 h 00